top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture0067506

MARKETING: EVALUATION AND COMPARISON

For the branding and marketing of my photography, I wanted to display my love for portraits, but also my passion in abstract images and my skills in graphic design. This is best seen in my business card, as it was the first design I created and thus built the foundation for my branding. Black and white along with minimalistic designs is what appeals to me most, and therefore I marketed to people who have a similar visual eye and aesthetic as myself. This will allow for synergy in my designs and great potential collaboration with clients.


Business Card:

My business card is monochromatic ranging from white to black, this created a cohesive look and visual appeal. The front features a silhouetted image I took in 2019, this provided a blank canvas and room to experiment on Adobe Illustrator with placement, opacity and size of the image. The back continues the theme, it contains a series of layered squares, an abstract design and personal information that will help potential clients. The texts used are the same in my watermark that is featured on the font, this again created flow between the sides.



Pop Up:

This image is feature on the home page of my website as a pop up, it opens to my email address so clients can be in contact with me. This design does differ from the others as the image is not in black and white but it does match the minimalistic design of my website hence why it is there. This design was first created on Canva but then recreated on Adobe Illustrator to fix the sizing of a web page. This pop up features an abstract photo I took in 2019, this again displays my love of abstract elements in portrait photography. The muted coloured shape futures the abstract appeal, also tying in the colours in the image



Poster:

The poster continues the black and white theme as seen in the business card, but also carries the minimalistic designs as the image above. The text is similar to the pop up but has my location, style of photography and dates of the sale on it, this choice was made as this image may appear on social media or sent to potential clients. The imaged featured was taken in 2020 and highlights my more marketable photography, that is less design or content specific. The poster was made on Canva, but could be easily replicated on various Adobe platforms.



Comparison- Artist One:

Katrienae Manuel is a Trinidad born and Australia based photographer who marketed her services though Instagram stories. This technique is gaining in popularity particularly amount teenagers, as it is efficient and cost affective. Her choice of marketing was a competition to engage her audience and create a potential client. The design does have some flaws as the text in her first story is hard to read and quite small, compared to the second image. And the images appear to be edited differently. These small criticisms are not a major issues as from her profit it is clear that she has a decent following.



Comparison- Artist Two:

Eliza like Katrienae used instagram to market her photography business. Her differs as the text is around the model making it easier to read. The only critic I have with her stories is that they where made on instagram in app, where as Katrienae was more off app this comes across as more passion and effort in her work. Eliza's also used two different images that where from the same shoot, this I believe works better on the instagram format.



Experimental:

These designs where all made on Canva this was to get an idea of themes, colours, text and layouts for potential posters ect. Also through the Canva format I was able to look at various designs and different images easily compared to other devices. These images didn't have the same visual appeal as the poster chosen, therefore they are now experimentals. The process of creating various deigns does enhance the image chosen.


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page